Putnam County Declared Disaster Area, Eligible for Individual Assistance

Recovery center at Philipstown Rec in Garrison

In response to the major disaster declaration of Putnam County, Philipstown Deputy Supervisor Nancy Montgomery announced that residents affected by Hurricane Sandy should continue to file for individual assistance at disasterassistance.gov. For more help in filing for disaster assistance, contact FEMA at 800-621-3362.

Philipstown Supervisor Richard Shea, Putnam County Director of Emergency Management Thomas Lannon, along with Putnam County Executive MaryEllen Odell have arranged for a FEMA Individual Assistance representative to be here in Philipstown this week. The recovery center will be set up at the Claudio Marzollo Community Center, Philipstown’s Recreation Center at 107 Glyncliffe Drive in Garrison. The town office will announce the exact date for FEMA’s arrival.

The town still only has a limited number of residents’ contact info. Please call and ask your neighbors to call Supervisor Shea with contact info at 845-265-5200. Contact the town clerk to be added to Philipstown’s e-blast list: [email protected].

Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced on Monday, Nov. 12 that four more counties have been added to the major federal disaster declaration for Hurricane Sandy. The major federal disaster declaration now offers Individual Assistance to residents of Orange, Putnam, Sullivan and Ulster counties.

“I thank President Obama for adding these four counties to the major disaster declaration,” Cuomo said. “The destructive effects of Hurricane Sandy are far-reaching and will require the maximum amount of federal assistance so these communities can rebuild and recover.”

On Oct. 30, President Obama granted Cuomo’s request for a federal disaster declaration for seven counties: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Richmond, Queens and Suffolk. On Nov. 2, Cuomo announced that an additional two counties, Rockland and Westchester, were approved to receive federal disaster assistance as a result of Hurricane Sandy. These counties are eligible for Individual as well as Public Assistance.

The federal disaster declaration was approved to enable the federal government to provide assistance and resources to New York state and local governments to support activities related to evacuation, sheltering, and other protective measures, including debris removal, logistics management and electric power generation.

FEMA will be at the Recreation Community Center the following dates and times:

Friday, November 16, 2012 12:00 noon – 5:30 p.m.
Saturday, November 17, 2012 9:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Sunday, November 18, 2012 9:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Monday, November 19, 2012 9:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Tuesday, November 20, 2012 9:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

Comments are closed.