BeaconArts, a non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of the City of Beacon as an arts and cultural center, announced its new board members Jan. 22.

“We are very pleased to welcome our new board members,” said Dan Rigney, president of BeaconArts. “Truly, for me as president, this board is a dream team.”

Newly elected board members include:

Kelly Ellenwood (1st full term as vice president) has served as a BeaconArts member-at-large for three years, and vice president (fulfilling a partial term for a vacated seat) for one year. An artist with award-winning professional credits on the Broadway and concert stages, Ellenwood manages the website, chairs the membership committee, chairs the Winter Holiday Committee and sits on the Communications Committee.

Erica Hauser (2 years, 1st term – secretary) is a painter and has been an artist member of BeaconArts since moving to Beacon seven years ago. She grew up in Brewster, and graduated with a BFA in 2002 from School of Visual Arts in New York City, after studying at Cornell University in Ithaca and the Art Students League of New York. Hauser, along with Jon Reichert, owns Catalyst Gallery on Main Street.

Richard Kaplan (2 years, 2nd term member-at-large) is a co-owner of Max’s On Main in Beacon, an enthusiastic promoter and sponsor of the arts and arts events since their inception almost seven years ago.

Terry Nelson (2 years, 2nd term member-at-large) is the founder and director of the Beacon Independent Film Festival, which held its first annual event this past September at The University Settlement Camp. He is a freelance video editor and commercial voiceover artist with over 20 years of technical and managerial experience in post-production.

Arien Rozelle (2 years, 1st term member-at-large) is a professional lecturer in the School of Communication and the Arts at Marist College, in Poughkeepsie.

The 2014 BeaconArts Board of Directors includes:
President: Dan Rigney; Vice President: Kelly Ellenwood; Treasurer: Nelson Conde; Secretary: Erica Hauser; Members-at-Large: Kirsten Heincke, Richard Kaplan, Terry Nelson, Arien Rozelle and Scott Tillitt. Visit

Behind The Story

Type: News

News: Based on facts, either observed and verified directly by the reporter, or reported and verified from knowledgeable sources.

Articles attributed to "staff" are written by the editor or a senior editor. This is typically because they are brief items based on a single source, such as a press release, or there are multiple contributors, such as a collection of photos.