Rachel Evans to appear on violin and viola

Pianist Michael Arnowitt
Pianist Michael Arnowitt

The Chapel Restoration announces a classical and jazz performance at 4 p.m. on Sunday, June 8. Pianist Michael Arnowitt will perform Debussy’s evocative Pagodas and The Girl with the Flaxen Hair and profound music from the later years of Bach, Brahms and Beethoven, including the opening movement of Beethoven’s Sonata in E major, a one-of-a-kind piece of classical music with a strong sense of improvisational fantasy.

Area favorite Rachel Evans will join Arnowitt on violin and viola for selected pieces, including the beautiful slow movement of Brahms’ Viola Sonata in F minor. Arnowitt will don his jazz hat for tunes including his own compositions The Crying Candle and Bulgarian Hoedown.

The Chapel Restoration is located at 45 Market St., Cold Spring. This concert is made possible, in part, through Putnam Arts Council’s Arts Link Grant Program, with funds from New York State Council on the Arts, the support of Gov. Andrew Cuomo and the State Legislature, and funds from Putnam County. Contributions from the public are welcome and constitute the most important ongoing support for Chapel music programs.

Photo courtesy of Chapel Restoration

Behind The Story

Type: News

News: Based on facts, either observed and verified directly by the reporter, or reported and verified from knowledgeable sources.

Articles attributed to "staff" are written by the editor or a senior editor. This is typically because they are brief items based on a single source, such as a press release, or there are multiple contributors, such as a collection of photos.