Clearwater Names New President

Betsy Garthwaite is former sloop captain

Betsy Garthwaite (photo provided)

Betsy Garthwaite (photo provided)

The former sloop Clearwater captain, Betsy Garthwaite, was named president of Hudson River Sloop Clearwater’s board of directors at the organization’s annual meeting on Sept. 24. She succeeds Anne Todd Osborn of Garrison, who had held the position since 2013 and will now serve as vice president.

Garthwaite is facilities manager at the Ulster Performing Arts Center in Kingston, where she lives. She has been involved with Clearwater since 1983. After working her way through the crew ranks, she served as captain of the Clearwater from 1992 to 1995.

In addition to Garthwaite, five new board members were elected at the annual meeting: Bob Alpern, Jeffrey Domanski, Neil Gordon, Lucy Johnson and Sarah Underhill.

Comments are closed.