Mets Defeat Marlins for Minors Title

The last-place Mets upset the Marlins, 6-3, on June 17 to win the Philipstown Little League Minors title.

Ty Villella threw a no-hitter against the first place A’s in the playoffs to put the Mets in the championship game, where Jessica Tudor picked up where Villella left off, striking out the side in the first inning.

The Mets show off their championship trophies (Photo by Paul Tomizawa)

Rhys Williams gave the Mets an early lead in the bottom of the first with a walk, two steals and heads-up base running.

The Marlins played smart defense to keep the Mets in check. With a runner on third in the second inning, catcher Zack Fox blocked the plate to tag out a runner at home. Later, in the fourth, Marlins pitcher Daniel Campanile bolted from the mound to the third-base line to tag out a runner leaning toward a steal.

The Philipstown Little League volunteer coaches (Photo by Paul Tomizawa)

The Mets opened up a 6-1 lead in the third with a barrage of hits and walks from Tudor, Connor Keegan, Catherine Leiter, Zack Michalek, Ryder Griffin, Christian Hytimer, Merrick Williams, Jayden Gunther and James Frommer.

The Marlins threatened late, cutting the lead to 6-3, but Leiter took the mound for the Mets and struck out the last four batters to end the game and trigger a wild celebration around manager Rodney Tudor.

Video by Paul Tomizawa

Comments are closed.