Change Coming to Village Board

Miller, Voloto will not seek re-election

The Cold Spring Village Board will have two new members as of Jan. 1, as incumbents Steve Voloto and Lynn Miller did not file petitions with the Putnam County Board of Elections by the July 30 deadline to appear on the November ballot. 

They will be succeeded by Kathleen Foley and Heidi Bender, who will run unopposed for the two open seats, barring any write-in campaigns. The term is for two years.

In addition, Camille Linson will run unopposed for a second term as Philipstown Town Justice.

Bender and Foley

Bender and Foley (File photos)

Foley is a consultant who specializes in historic preservation and land-use planning. She is also a member of the village’s Historic District Review Board. Bender is the co-owner, with her husband, Michael, of Split Rocks Books on Main Street.

Voloto and Miller were each elected in 2016 and re-elected in 2018 without opposition. Miller said she decided not to run for a third term because “I’m facing a lot of uncertainty. My husband and I will be selling our business Veggie Go-Go [in Wappingers Falls], and serving as a trustee requires complete dedication and commitment.” Voloto did not immediately respond to a request for comment.

The other members of the Village Board are Mayor Dave Merandy, Fran Murphy and Marie Early.

Michael Turton contributed reporting.

Trust MarkThe Current is a member of The Trust Project, a consortium of news outlets that has adopted standards to allow readers to more easily assess the credibility of their journalism. Our best practices, including our verification and correction policies, can be accessed here. Have a comment? A news tip? Spot an error? Email

Leave a Reply

The Current welcomes comments on its coverage and local issues. Submissions are selected by the editor to provide a variety of opinions and voices, and all are subject to editing for accuracy, clarity and length. We ask that writers remain civil and avoid personal attacks. Submissions must include your first and last name (no pseudonyms), as well as a valid email address (which will not be published). Please allow up to 24 hours for an approved submission to be posted. All online comments may also appear in print.