Committee Assignments

The following are the committee assignments for local representatives in the 2021 state legislative session that began in Albany on Jan. 6. There are 33 standing committees in the state Senate and 37 in the Assembly.

State Sen. Sue Serino (R)
– Aging
– Cultural Affairs, Tourism, Parks and Recreation
– Finance
– Insurance
– Social Services
– Transportation

State Assemblywoman Sandy Galef (D) [Philipstown] – Corporations, Authorities and Commissions
– Election Law
– Governmental Operations
– Health
– Real Property Taxation (chair)

State Assemblyman Jonathan Jacobson (D) [Beacon] – Cities
– Election Law
– Insurance
– Labor
– Local Governments
– Transportation

At the federal level, Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney, a Democrat, serves on the Agriculture; Intelligence; and Transportation and Infrastructure committee.

The Current is a member of The Trust Project, a consortium of news outlets that has adopted standards to allow readers to more easily assess the credibility of their journalism. Our best practices, including our verification and correction policies, can be accessed here. Have a comment? A news tip? Spot an error? Email [email protected].

Leave a Reply

The Current welcomes comments on its coverage and local issues. Submissions are selected by the editor to provide a variety of opinions and voices, and all are subject to editing for accuracy, clarity and length. We ask that writers remain civil and avoid personal attacks. Submissions must include your first and last name (no pseudonyms), as well as a valid email address (which will not be published). Please allow up to 24 hours for an approved submission to be posted. All online comments may also appear in print.