Legislators put 12-year limit in place

The Dutchess County Legislature on Monday (March 11) approved term limits for future county executives and legislators.

Officials elected after Jan. 1 will be able to serve a maximum of 12 years. The change passed unanimously.

It means the county executive, who serves four years, will be able to remain in office for three terms, while legislators, who serve two years, will be able to keep their seats for up to six terms. After January 2022, the county comptroller will be able to serve three, 4-year terms.

Putnam County since 2011 has limited its county executive to two, 4-year terms and since 2014 its legislators to four, 3-year terms. (County Executive MaryEllen Odell, was elected in 2011 to fill an unexpired term before winning her first full term in 2014. She was re-elected in 2018 to her second full term.)

Behind The Story

Type: News

News: Based on facts, either observed and verified directly by the reporter, or reported and verified from knowledgeable sources.

Articles attributed to "staff" are written by the editor or a senior editor. This is typically because they are brief items based on a single source, such as a press release, or there are multiple contributors, such as a collection of photos.