Haldane's Joan Brocker with 2011 Saunders History Competition winners

By Alison Rooney

The Putnam County Historical Society’s (PCHS) annual Jean Saunders History Competition took place last week and once again local 7th graders submitted all manner of projects relating to the rich history of this area. The students can choose topics suggested by the PCHS, or they can devise their own idea, clearing it in advance. They may work individually, in pairs or in small groups, and are expected to research and design their projects independent of adults, excepting those who work at the PCHS. The supervising teachers are Joan Brocker from Haldane Middle School and Mary Foppiano of Garrison Union Free School. Participation is required at Garrison School, while optional at Haldane. The winners receive cash awards, and all participating students receive junior memberships at the PCHS. This year’s judges were Sarah Carnevale, Elizabeth Edelson, John Hermesch, Steven Ives, and Molly McCoy Straus.

  • First place winners were Mary Margaret Dwyer and Grace Seward, of Haldane, for their project, “Thomas Davenport.”
  • Second place went to Sophia Sburlati and Xanni Vourliotis, of Garrison, for “Native Americans in the Hudson Valley.”
  • Third place was earned by Jeremy Roffman and Umru Rothenberg, Haldane, for “The History of the PCNR.”
  • Liam MacNamara of Haldane received an Honorable Mention for “The House that Paul Corey Built.”

This year’s participating students from the Garrison School were: Will Bohl, Aidan Campbell, Kyle Chason, Chloe Davis, Isabelle Davis Amanda Erickson, Brendan Hamel, Jacob Hard, Sarah Kelly, Natalie Lansbury, Harper Levy, Kate Lisotta, John Marcinak, Anna Northrup, Ted Northrup, Lila Osborn, Emma Parks, Ethan Penner, Juliette Raynaud, Jake Regele, Emma Scali, Kristin Scali, Shawn Sharifi, James Sherman, Colin Waldron and Paul Walker.

Participating students from Haldane were: Amelia Allison, Sarah Anderson, Ryan Duffy, ,John Eng-Wong, John Farrell, Teresa Figueiras, Blaine Fitzgerald, Alice Flanagan, Brian Haines, Jocelyn Lane, Allie LaRocco, Kyra Moskowitz, Hope Perkins, and Tiam Schaper.

For more information, visit the Historical Society website, or call 845-265-4010.


Behind The Story

Type: News

News: Based on facts, either observed and verified directly by the reporter, or reported and verified from knowledgeable sources.

Rooney was the arts editor for The Current since its founding in 2010 through April 2024. A playwright, she has lived in Cold Spring since 1999. She is a graduate of Binghamton University, where she majored in history. Location: Cold Spring. Languages: English. Area of Expertise: Arts