Nominations Accepted for Martha Washington Woman of History Award

Each March, Washington’s Headquarters State Historic Site recognizes a woman who has distinguished herself in the field of Hudson Valley history by bestowing upon her the Martha Washington Woman of History Award.

Appropriately, the award emanates from where Martha Washington resided with her husband, Gen. George Washington, during the last months of the Revolutionary War. That the ceremony takes place in March, during Women’s History Month, is indeed fitting.

The Woman of History award acknowledges Martha Washington’s important place in history as a devoted patriot in support of the American Revolution and the ensuing new nation. This is the 11th year the award has been given, continuing the site’s mission to educate the public about the history of the state and national heritage. Previous recipients are:

2003 Janet Dempsey – author/historian

2004 Carol Ash – former commissioner of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

2005 Patricia Favata – author/historian

2006 Barbara Bedell – Times-Herald Record columnist

2007 Mary McTamaney – City of Newburgh historian

2008 Mary Mangione – former Hudson River Valley Greenway director

2009 Elizabeth McKean – City of Newburgh Records management director

2010 Mary Ann Fish – environmental historian

2011 Mara Farrell – community activist

2012 Stella Bailey – historian/preservationist

Many women are dedicated to sharing and preserving our history — including those who share their love of history with children by taking them to historic places, those who research the Hudson Valley and share their findings to encourage others to do the same, and those who use their private time or resources to preserve a landmark of historic significance.

These are just a few examples of what could qualify a woman to be a recipient of the award. The nomination field is open to any woman who has cultivated interest and awareness of Hudson Valley history, either locally or nationally.

Nominations may be completed and submitted by Jan. 4, 2013.

To receive a nomination form, please visit or, or call 845-562-1195.

Comments are closed.