Cheese shop, Hudson House win peoples’ choice

The Cold Spring Area Chamber of Commerce held its annual awards dinner on April 25 at Dutchess Manor and the Cold Spring Cheese Shop and Hudson House River Inn won honors after voting by the public.

Nominees for the People’s Choice Awards are selected by the chamber board and put to a vote online.

The New Business of the Year Award was presented to the owners of the Cold Spring Cheese Shop. The other nominees were Chapeau, Dolly’s Restaurant, Poor George and Split Rock Books.

Chamber President Eliza Starbuck, Rebecca Ramirez of the Cold Spring Cheese Shop, board member Jack Goldstein and Timothy Haskell of the Cold Spring Cheese Shop.

The Silver Business of the Year Award, for firms that have been open for 25 years or more, went to Hudson House. The other nominees were Badey & Watson, the Cold Spring Depot Restaurant and Romeo & Juliet Salon.

The chamber also presented three other awards, including a new honor, the Collaboration of the Year Award, to recognize groups that work together to improve the local quality of life. It went to the Philipstown Community Congress and the Philipstown Communities That Care Coalition. The congress created a public forum for residents to discuss issues facing the community, which provided a platform for the CTC Coalition to pursue its work on addiction prevention and treatment.

Danielle Pack-McCarthy of the Philipstown Communities That Care Coalition and, in background, Jason Angel of the Philipstown Community Congress.

The Sustainable Business Award went to Sean and Lindsey Barton of Cockburn Farm. This award is given to a business that demonstrates the principles of sustainability and renewable practices.

Mayor Dave Merandy presented the James G. Lovell Community Award to Kim Conner and Nick Groombridge, owners of the Old VFW Hall in Cold Spring. The award honors individuals who, by their example, generosity, and understanding of what makes Cold Spring unique, contribute to its social, economic and environmental well-being. (Groombridge is also a member of the board of directors of Highlands Current Inc., which publishes this newspaper.)

Dave Merandy presents the James G. Lovell Community Award to Nick Groombridge.

The chamber presented its annual Philip Baumgarten Memorial Scholarship Award to Samuel Curto of Haldane High School. The $1,000 award is given to a high school senior from Philipstown with outstanding skill and an interest in entrepreneurship. Hilary Hayes, co-owner of Hudson Hil’s restaurant, recommended Curto.

Sam Curto accepts a chamber scholarship from board member Nat Prentice.

Finally, Board Member Kate Liberman was recognized for her past service as president of the chamber.

Photos by Caitlin Chadwick

Behind The Story

Type: News

News: Based on facts, either observed and verified directly by the reporter, or reported and verified from knowledgeable sources.

Articles attributed to "staff" are written by the editor or a senior editor. This is typically because they are brief items based on a single source, such as a press release, or there are multiple contributors, such as a collection of photos.