Wind Soloists of New York to Play at Howland, Mar. 18

Members of the Wind Soloists of New York

Start of Howland Chamber Music Circle spring season

For the start of the spring portion of its chamber music series, the Howland Chamber Music Circle presents the Wind Soloists of New York, a large ensemble of winds with a flexible instrumentation that consists of leading wind players of New York City. They will perform a variety of music for different configurations of instruments: The Caprice on Danish and Russian Airs for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, and Piano by Camille Saint-Saens, the Quartet for Winds by Jean Francaix, Kleine Kammermusik, Op. 24, No.2 by Paul Hindemith, two works by Franz Liszt: Schlaflos! Frage und Antwort (Sleepless! Question and Answer) and Bagatelle sans tonalite (Bagatelle without Tonality), Intermissio by the American composer Morton Feldman, Novelette, Op. 21, No.8 by Robert Schumann, Syrinx for Solo Flute by Claude Debussy and the Sextet for Piano and Winds by Francis Poulenc.

The members of the Wind Soloists of New York all have extensive performance histories, and have collectively performed with a wide variety of orchestras throughout the United States. The members of the ensemble performing at this concert are Kathy Fink, flute; Thomas Gallant, oboe; Pascal Archer, clarinet; Cynde Iverson, bassoon; and Wei-Ping Chou, horn. They will be joined for some pieces by pianist Pedja Muzijevic, who has appeared as a soloist throughout the United States and Europe as well as in the Howland Chamber Music Circle’s Piano Festival 2008.

The concert will take place on Sunday, March 18, at 4 p.m., at the Howland Cultural Center, 477 Main Street, Beacon and will be followed by a reception to meet the artists. Tickets are $30 ($10 for students) and can be reserved by calling 845-297-9243. Further information on this and other presentations by the Howland Chamber Music Circle can be found on the Chamber Music Circle website.
Photo courtesy of Howland Chamber Music Circle

Comments are closed.