Dutchess Passes Term Limits

Legislators put 12-year limit in place

The Dutchess County Legislature on Monday (March 11) approved term limits for future county executives and legislators.

Officials elected after Jan. 1 will be able to serve a maximum of 12 years. The change passed unanimously.

It means the county executive, who serves four years, will be able to remain in office for three terms, while legislators, who serve two years, will be able to keep their seats for up to six terms. After January 2022, the county comptroller will be able to serve three, 4-year terms.

Putnam County since 2011 has limited its county executive to two, 4-year terms and since 2014 its legislators to four, 3-year terms. (County Executive MaryEllen Odell, was elected in 2011 to fill an unexpired term before winning her first full term in 2014. She was re-elected in 2018 to her second full term.)

Trust MarkThe Current is a member of The Trust Project, a consortium of news outlets that has adopted standards to allow readers to more easily assess the credibility of their journalism. Our best practices, including our verification and correction policies, can be accessed here. Have a comment? A news tip? Spot an error? Email editor@highlandscurrent.org.

Comments are closed.