Foundation Awards Scholarships

Eleven Beacon students among recipients

The Community Foundations of the Hudson Valley awarded 170 scholarships worth a total of $360,000 to 145 students in Dutchess, Putnam and Ulster counties. The foundation said a record 1,500 students applied.


The recipients included 11 students from Beacon High School: Toluwalase Akinwunmi, Victoria Banks, Jordana Caputo, Noah Cory, Aaron Davis, Joseph DeCandia, Jessica Hockler, DaVonia LaMar, Ethan Mensch, Grace Sanker and Sierra Shields.

CFHV also announced it has appointed Nevill Smythe as interim president and CEO while it searches for a successor to March Gallagher, who resigned to become the Democratic candidate for Ulster County comptroller.

Comments are closed.